Trader Joe’s Is Testing A Vegan “Milk” Chocolate Bar
Andrew Parker - March 16, 2020

Lester

By Shel Silverstein

Lester was given a magic wish
By the goblin who lives in the banyan tree,
And with his wish he wished for two more wishes-
So now instead of just one wish, he cleverly had three.
And with each one of these
He simply wished for three more wishes,
Which gave him three old wishes, plus nine new.
And with each of these twelve
He slyly wished for three more wishes,
Which added up to forty-six -- or is it fifty-two?
Well anyway, he used each wish
To wish for wishes 'til he had
Five billion, seven million, eighteen thousand thirty-four.
And then he spread them on the ground
And clapped his hands and danced around
And skipped and sang, and then sat down
And wished for more.
And more...and more...they multiplied
While other people smiled and cried
And loved and reached and touched and felt.
Lester sat amid his wealth
Stacked mountain-high like stacks of gold,
Sat and counted -- and grew old.
And then one Thursday night they found him
Dead -- with his wishes piled around him.
And they counted the lot and found that not
A single one was missing.
All shiny and new -- here, take a few
And think of Lester as you do.
In a world of apples and kisses and shoes
He wasted his wishes on wishing.

Trader Joe’s is testing a vegan “milk” chocolate bar and the world is ready. Due to dietary restrictions and food trends, many things have become veganized. There are so many vegan foods and dishes that are available, but a lot of desserts and chocolate bars depend on cocoa powder and cacao nibs to get that taste we’re all looking for. But while those replacements are okay, it would be nice to have some actual chocolate chips.

 

In the most recent episode of the podcast Inside Trader Joe’s, Tara Miller, the company’s Director of Words, Phrases, and Clauses shared that the grocery chain is working on a full vegan “milk” chocolate.

 

Miller said that the product is still in development but it has been approved by the company’s tasting panel. The “milk” in the chocolate is almond milk. “But I wouldn’t have known the difference,” Miller says, “if I wasn’t told it would’ve just tasted like creamy milk chocolate.”

 

“I feel like our vegan customers are going to absolutely flip when they see this product,” Miller added. And to be honest, we’re sure they will.